Training Requirements

Certificates

There are two 24-month periods in the current training cycle which ends on August 31, 2017. The first 24-month period, or unit, begins on 09/01/2013 and ends on 08/31/2015. The second 24-month period, or unit, begins on 09/01/2015 and ends on 08/31/2017, which is also the conclusion date of the 48-month training cycle.

Peace Officer Licensees

Training Mandates

Please pay close attention to the training mandates for the 2013-2015 training unit. The number of required hours has not changed.

Required Hours (Texas Occupations Code 1701.351(a)):

  • 2013 to 2015 training unit - 40 hours
  • 2015 to 2017 training unit - 40 hours

Required Courses (Texas Occupations Code 1701.258 (a), 1701.351(a-1) and 1701.352)

  • 2013 to 2015 training unit - Course 3183 State and Federal Law Update Course.
  • 2015 to 2017 training unit - Course 3184 State and Federal Law Update Course.

  • 4 Year Training Cycle 2013 to 2017
    • Those holding a BASIC PEACE OFFICER Certificate or no certificate will be required to have Cultural Diversity, Special Investigative Topics, and Crisis Intervention Training.
    • Those holding an INTERMEDIATE or higher do not have specific courses (other than the State and Federal Law Update Course)

Proficiency Chart

Peace Officer Proficiency Chart

Reserve Officer and Public Security Officer Licensees

Training Mandates

Required Courses (Texas Occupations Code 1701.351(a-1) and 1701.352):

  • 4 Year Training Cycle 2013 to 2017: Cultural Diversity

Deputy Constable Appointees

Training Mandates

  • 4 Year Training Cycle 2013 - 2017: As part of the 40 hour training requirements for Peace Officers mentioned above, deputy constables must also complete 20 hours of Civil Process each 48-month training cycle (2013-2017)

Jailer Licensees

Training Mandates

Required Courses (Texas Occupations Code 1701.351(a-1) and 1701.352):

  • 4 Year Training Cycle 2013 to 2017: Cultural Diversity

Proficiency Chart

Jailer Proficiency Chart

Telecommunicators

Training Mandates

Required Courses (Texas Occupations Code 1701.352 (i)):

Each licensed telecommunicator must complete no less than 20 hours of training each 2 year training unit.

Proficiency Chart

Telecommunicator Proficiency Chart

Chief Administrators

Training Mandates

Police Chiefs

Each chief must complete at least 40 hours of continuing education through the Bill Blackwood Institute during the current 2 year training unit. (Education Code 96.641)

  • Chiefs, newly appointed or elected for the first time, are required to complete course 3780 New Chief’s Education no later than the second anniversary date of appointment or election. (Education Code 96.641(h)).
  • Chief’s who have already completed the requirements of a newly elected or appointed chief, must complete course 3740, Chief’s Continuing Education each unit.

 Constables

Each constable must complete at least 40 hours of continuing education through the Bill Blackwood Institute during the current 4 year training cycle. (Occupation Code 1701.3545)

  • Newly elected or appointed Constables must take Course 3742 New Constable’s Course within 2 years of appointment or election.  (Occupation Code 1701.3545(d))
  • Constables who have already completed the requirements of a newly elected or appointed Constables must take Course 3743, Constable’s Continuing Education each cycle. (Occupation Code 1701.3545(d))

Resources

TCOLE Rules

Regional Field Service Agents