

Texas Commission on Law Enforcement News Release

Kim Vickers
Executive Director

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE June 10, 2022

Contact: Gretchen Grigsby 512-936-7715

48 Honored with State of Texas Law Enforcement Achievement Awards

AUSTIN – Today in the House of Representatives Chamber at the Texas Capitol, 48 Texas peace officers received Law Enforcement Achievement Awards given by the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement (TCOLE). This ceremony, the first since 2019, honored officers for their outstanding achievements in the categories of Public Service, Professional Achievement, and Valor. This includes three awards for Valor being given posthumously.

"It is a tremendous honor to recognize these amazing officers for their vision, their leadership, and their heroism," said TCOLE Executive Director Kim Vickers. "These fine individuals have given so much to Texas in their time and talents, and we especially remember those who have given their lives in protection of their community."

"These officers represent the best Texas law enforcement has to offer," said State Representative James White, Chairman of the House Committee on Homeland Security and Public Safety, who delivered the keynote address. "Each one of them is well deserving of their award, and I am grateful for their service."

A summary of the accomplishments and events for which these awards were given, as well as photos from the ceremony, can be found at https://www.tcole.texas.gov/content/state-texas-achievement-awards. Additional photos will be added as they are available.

Public Service

Officer Jeremy Lahar Houston Police Department
Chief Allen Banks Round Rock Police Department
Constable Paul Leal Williamson County Constable's Office, Pct. 4
Officer Elizabeth Duong Arlington Police Department
Constable George Morales, III Travis County Constable's Office Pct. 4

Professional Achievement

Assistant Chief Carrie White North Richland Hills Police Department

Chief Jeffrey Yarbrough Commander John J. Matthews

Detective Jeffrey Rich

Round Rock I.S.D. Police Department

Ovilla Police Department Plano Police Department

Valor

Trooper Joseph Lopez
Sergeant Michael Chitty
Officer Sergio Dominguez
Deputy Colton Lowe
Deputy Roger Smith
Officer Kenneth Parada
Deputy Brad Colman

Officer Payton Brandenberger Sergeant Tabitha Frawner Trooper Leonard Sandifer Corporal Vidal Farias Officer Diego Aranda Officer Oscar Guzman Officer Arnoldo Villarreal, Jr.

Trooper Armando Martinez Trooper Austin Hangebrauck

Officer Travis Allen
Sergeant David Alaniz
Sergeant Lance Anderson
Sergeant Orlando Treviño
Deputy Heath Lawson
Trooper Melina Justiss
Trooper Justin Basso
Officer Celinda Gonzales
Officer Sherman Benys, Jr.*
Deputy Darin Brooks
Corporal Roper Ellison
Deputy Cody Burk

Trooper Forrest Craig Hunter Corporal Jose L. Espericueta* Corporal Alexandria Leal Officer Luis Gutierrez Officer Sergio Martinez

Deputy Ethan Kahla

Chief Albert Garcia Captain Tammie McDonald Sergeant Shawn Wilson Sheriff Ray Scifres

Sergeant Joshua Bartlett*

Texas Department of Public Safety Arlington Police Department Fort Worth Police Department Jefferson County Sheriff's Office Jefferson County Sheriff's Office

University of Texas System Police Department

Anderson County Sheriff's Office Palestine Police Department Anderson County Sheriff's Office Texas Department of Public Safety

Mission Police Department Mission Police Department Mission Police Department Mission Police Department

Texas Department of Public Safety Texas Department of Public Safety

Irving Police Department

Harris County Constable's Office, Pct. 5
Texas Department of Public Safety
Texas Department of Public Safety
Kingsville Police Department
Kingsville Police Department
Polk County Sheriff's Office
Polk County Sheriff's Office
Chambers County Sheriff's Office
Texas Department of Public Safety

Mission Police Department
Mission Police Department
Mission Police Department
Mission Police Department
Levelland Police Department
Levelland Police Department
Levelland Police Department
Levelland Police Department
Hockley County Sheriff's Office
Lubbock County Sheriff's Office

^{*}Posthumous award