

TEXAS COMMISSION ON LAW ENFORCEMENT

Commission Meeting Agenda August 25, 2023

On Friday, August 25, 2023, at 9:30 a.m., a meeting of the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement (TCOLE) will be held. The meeting will be held at the Second Baptist Church, New Children's Building, Room 313, 6400 Woodway Dr., Houston, Texas 77057, to discuss the following agenda.

- 1. Call to order.
 - Presentation of Colors
 - Pledge of Allegiance
 - Invocation
 - Roll call of members
 - Welcoming remarks
- 2. Approval of the minutes of the June 15, 2023 Commission Meeting.
- 3. Receive reports and take action, if necessary.
 - Presiding Officer's Report
 - Interim Executive Director's Report
 - Credentialing, Education, and Field Services Report
 - Information Technology and Special Services Report
 - Enforcement Report
 - Government Relations Report
 - Finance Report
- 4. Discuss and take action on Advisory Committees recommendations.
 - Misconduct Investigation and Hiring Procedures
 - Minimum Standards for Law Enforcement Agencies
 - Examination of a Licensee
- 5. Final Adoption of Rule 211.36, setting a framework for the establishment of TCOLE Advisory Committees.
- 6. Discuss and take action on the Request for Class A Waiver of TCOLE Rule 217.1 Minimum Standards for Enrollment and Initial Licensure.
 - Oldham County Sheriff's Office, Sheriff Brent Warden on behalf of Richard W. Humphries

7. Discuss and take actions on proceedings for revocation, suspension, and other disciplinary actions.

Default Suspension Orders

Banks, Johnny L. Jailer	LaSalle Southwest Corrections
-------------------------	-------------------------------

Jefferson Cnty. Downtown Jail

Davis, Annette Jailer Karnes Cnty. Correctional Center

Freeman, Jason C. Peace Officer Carrollton Police Dep't

Ganaway, Devon L. Peace Officer Texas Dep't of Public Safety
Hernandez III, Rafael Peace Officer San Antonio Police Dep't
Holmes, Demarius E. Peace Officer San Antonio Police Dep't

Lozano, Jennifer M. Jailer Jim Hogg Cnty. Sheriff's Office

Michalec, Glenn P. Peace Officer San Antonio Police Dep't

Agreed Suspension Waivers

Fullagar, Stacy A. Peace Officer Joshua I.S.D. Police Dep't

Garza, Amado A. Peace Officer Jim Hogg Cnty. Constable Precinct 4

Godley, Lisa H. Peace Officer, Jailer Bell Cnty. Sheriff's Office

Agreed Suspension Orders

Alexander, Eric L.	Peace Officer, Jailer	Johnson Cnty. Sheriff's Office
Garcia, David	Peace Officer	Maverick Cnty. Sheriff's Office
Hutchings, Cutter M.	Jailer	Gregg Cnty. Sheriff's Office
Tinajero, Juan Jose G.	Peace Officer	Lufkin I.S.D. Police Dep't

For Information Only

Statutory Suspensions

Anderson, Raven S.	Peace Officer	Prairie View A&M Police Dep't
Barnes, Diedra J.	Jailer	Harris Cnty. Sheriff's Office
Benavides, Bobby J.	Jailer	Nueces Cnty. Sheriff's Office
Hernandez, Leslys B.	Peace Officer, Jailer	Fort Bend Cnty. Sheriff's Office
Megrail, Amanda G.	Jailer	Smith Cnty. Sheriff's Office

Statutory Revocations

Garcia, Alvaro R.	Peace Officer	Palm Valley Police Dep't
Parrish, Layton D.	Peace Officer	Dumas Police Dep't

Term Surrenders

Cook, Cedric R. Peace Officer, Jailer Harris Cnty. Sheriff's Office Powell, Stephen P. Peace Officer Bowie Cnty. Sheriff's Office

Permanent Surrenders

Cornejo, Richard A. Peace Officer Harris Cnty. Constable Precinct 4

Davis, Todd K. Peace Officer Bedford Police Dep't Esparza, Gilbert H. Peace Officer Hamilton Police Dep't

Esparza, Mandy J. Peace Officer Lampasas Cnty. Constable Precinct 4

Fortner, Desmund D. Jailer Harris Cnty. Sheriff's Office Garza, Abraham R. Peace Officer, Jailer Dimmit Cnty. Sheriff's Office Griffith, Kent F. Peace Officer, Jailer Garza Cnty. Sheriff's Office

Guerrero Jr., Miguel A. Peace Officer Idalou Police Dep't
Haak, Thaddeus J. Peace Officer Abilene Police Dep't

McDermott, Andrew D. Peace Officer, Jailer Bexar Cnty. Sheriff's Office Melasky, Melissa L. Peace Officer, Jailer Brazos Cnty. Sheriff's Office Mercer, Ira A. Peace Officer, Jailer Palo Pinto Cnty. Sheriff's Office Quintanilla, Jose A. Peace Officer Harris Cnty. Sheriff's Office

Sanchez, Eduardo Jailer Bexar Cnty. Sheriff's Office

Silva, Paul D. Peace Officer Bryan Police Dep't

Solomon, Jaykedrict J. Jailer Harris Cnty. Sheriff's Office Vasquez, Joaquin Peace Officer Hidalgo Cnty. Sheriff's Office

Reprimand for Administrative Violations

Hester, Grady R. Peace Officer Littlefield Police Dep't

- 8. Discuss and take action on the process, procedure, and qualifications related to the selection of the next Executive Director, if necessary.
- 9. Receive public comment on any topic, without action.
- 10. Executive Session to discuss pending or contemplated litigation, settlement offers, and personnel issues, including evaluation of Executive Director's job performance and selection of Executive Director, pursuant to sections 551.071 and .074 of the Texas Government Code, Open Meetings Act.
- 11. Return from Executive Session to report and discuss further actions to be taken as a result of the Executive Session, if necessary.
- 12. Adjourn.