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Honoring our Heroes 
By Chief Kim Vickers 

On June 15th, TCOLE had the honor of recognizing 23 officers from around 

the state and presenting them State of Texas Law Enforcement Achieve-

ment Awards in the areas of Professional Achievement, Public Service, and 

Valor. This annual ceremony is one of my absolute favorite events of the 

year, and I want to take just one more opportunity to congratulate all of the 

recipients and their families, and to thank the nominators for bringing their 

service to our attention. You can find a list of recipients and a summary of 

the events for which they were nominated on our website. 

 

We encourage anyone who would like to nominate a licensee for one of 

these awards to please do so. Nominations are accepted through December 

31st each year. We know there are many licensees out there doing great 

things, and we want to honor them for it!  
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Commission Meeting Highlights 

  

 

The latest Commission meeting was held at the J.J. Pick-

le Research Campus on Thursday, June 14, 2018. Here 

are a few highlights from the meeting: 

 

 

Executive Director’s Report:  The Texas Association of 

School Resource Officers and the Trident Response 

Group have been approved as contract training provid-

ers. Bryan Police Department and Round Rock Police 

Department, who were contract training providers, are 

now academies.  Staff changes were announced and new 

employees were introduced. Several staff members at-

tended the IADLEST Conference in Boston, MA. Execu-

tive Director Vickers was voted in as first vice presi-

dent, and Texas will be hosting the 2020 conference in 

Fort Worth. Executive Director Vickers attended the 

Governor’s round table on school safety. A summary of 

Class A waivers was given from a request of Commis-

sioner Hester in the March quarterly commission meet-

ing. Since 2014 there were 19 requests submitted. Ten 

were presented to the commissioners; 10 were ap-

proved, and 10 are still working for the approved agen-

cy.  

 

Credentialing and Field Services Director’s Report:  TCOLE will be receiving additional funding 

for the school marshal program from the governor’s office. TCOLE is working on a grant to work 

in partnership with existing training providers to train additional school marshals before the 

school year begins. Retiree firearms qualifications policy follows federal statute allowing for 10 

years of service. 

 

Enforcement and Special Services Director’s Report:  A school marshal class is beginning on 

Sunday, June 17th. This is an 80 hour course that will be done in 7 days. There will be three 

classes before September 1st. The school marshal curriculum has been updated but will need 

For more information 

Meeting Minutes: Other items, includ-

ing line of duty deaths, waiver re-

quests, proceedings for revocation, 

suspension, and other disciplinary 

actions, and previous meeting 

minutes, can be found under the Who 

We Are/The Commission section on 

our website at:  www.tcole.texas.gov. 

Live Recordings: Live and archived 

video recordings of the meetings can 

be found on our website on the Who 

We Are/The Commission page at: 

www.tcole.texas.gov.  

Public Comment: Anyone wishing to 

make a public comment may do so at 

the following email address:  

public_comment@tcole.texas.gov. 

http://www.tcole.texas.gov/content/tcole-commission-and-its-members
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCIaet7W6P5NJhsDuM_IQIpg/live
mailto:public_comment@tcole.texas.gov
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Commission Meeting Highlights, Continued 

 

some adjustments.  These three classes are being used for trainers to go through the class as a 

train the trainer. The focus is on these three classes and we are planning on having a train the 

trainer class after the first of the year. TCOLE has received 13 new ISD applications since the 

shootings in Santa Fe.  We will get the paperwork processed with a 30 day turnaround.  Noncom-

pliance cases are now below 500. These are the ones that we are having difficulty locating the 

officers.  

 

Government Relations Director’s Report:  The Texas Peace Officers’ Memorial ceremony re-

ceived good feedback.  The committee is now planning the 2019 ceremony. The TCOLE 

Achievement Awards are tomorrow morning. The school safety Senate hearing was this week 

and the House hearing is on June 28th. For the next legislative session, the Legislative Appropri-

ations Request will be submitted late July, and the Strategic Plan was submitted last month.  

 

Law Enforcement Achievement Awards:  The Commission approved 23 officers to receive State 

of Texas Law Enforcement Achievement Awards in the areas of Professional Achievement, Pub-

lic Service, and Valor. 

 

Rules:  Four rules were proposed for publishing in the Texas Register. More details are available 

on page 10. 
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Reporting Training- How old is Too Old? 
 

Although TCOLE wants a licensee’s training record in our database to be a true and accurate re-

port of their training history, we do have some limits on how long we will accept reports of train-

ing, after it is completed. Rules §215.9 and §218.5 clearly state that training must be submitted to 

TCOLE within 30 days of completion.   

 

Even with that in mind, TCOLE is willing to take reports of training beyond the 30 days, but the 

agency must consider that this means they are violating a Rule, and are, therefore, subject to dis-

ciplinary action. TCOLE may choose not to take any action if the late reporting is an occasional 

occurrence, but a pattern of late reporting will definitely have some consequence. Any training up 

to one year old will be accepted if properly documented and submitted. Contract Training Provid-

ers should keep in mind that EVERY instance of training reported beyond 30 days will be submit-

ted to our Academy Contract Evaluators for your next evaluation.  

 

Beyond one year, however, there are very narrow circumstances where training will be accepted. 

 

 The training is for Personnel Orientation (1999) or FTO (3720, 3721, 3722). These may be 

reported at any point, with NO penalty or disciplinary action. 

 The training is for a legislatively mandated course- not to meet minimum hour require-

ments, but to meet a specific topic requirement, such as Cultural Diversity. These may be 

reported regardless of age, but will be considered late. 

 Roster corrections- this is not considered a new report of training, therefore a roster cor-

rection/amendment does not have a time limitation and is not considered a Rule violation. 

 

Agencies must remember that reports of training are governmental documents, so reporting train-

ing that did not occur, or persons who did not attend, is a felony, and will be aggressively pursued 

by TCOLE. All reported training must be backed up by the documentation that is required by Rules 

§215.9 and §218.1. 

 

Individual licensees must remember that their training is their own responsibility. Once completed, 

it is up to them to make sure it is properly reported. Don’t always rely on “the other guy” to get it 

done for you! 

Credentialing Division 
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Field Services Division 

What is a Mandate? 
 

The addition of numerous training requirements for licensees in the last several legislative sessions 

has led to a great deal of confusion as to what the actual training requirements are. Some of the 

confusion relates directly to what a mandate is, as it can mean different things in different circum-

stances. There are currently six different ways that the legislature can mandate training. Determin-

ing which mandate applies to each training course is crucial. The six different types of mandates 

are: 

 

1. A Basic Licensing Mandate- this means that the course must be added to the applicable 

basic licensing course. The Commission normally adds the basic licensing mandate in the 

next update of the basic licensing course, but depending on the wording in the legislation, 

the course could become an immediate requirement in the existing basic licensing course. 

 

2. A Post Licensing Mandate- this normally defines courses which must be completed within 

a certain timeframe after licensing. For example, Canine Encounters, which became a Post 

Licensing Mandate as of January 1, 2016, was mandated to be completed within two years of 

licensing for all persons initially licensed on or after January 1, 2016. 

 

3. A Unit/Cycle Mandate- this requires a course to be taken each applicable Training Unit, 

or Training Cycle, according to level of Proficiency Certification. An example is the new De-

escalation course. This course is required to be completed every Training Cycle, by peace 

officers, unless the peace officer has reached Intermediate Certification. 

 

4. A Proficiency Certification Mandate- this mandate requires a course to be completed as 

part of the certification requirements for Basic, Intermediate, Advanced, or Master Certifica-

tion. The mandate can apply to more than one level of certification, as does the new require-

ment for the 40-hour Crisis Intervention Training. 

 

5. An Assignment-Specific Mandate- this requires a licensee who engages in a certain duty 

or activity to complete the required course. The mandate may specify that the course be 

completed prior to engaging in the activity, such as Body Worn Cameras, or within a certain 

timeframe after being assigned the duty, as with School Resource Officer Certification, which 

must be completed within 120 days of initial assignment. 
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Field Services Division, Continued 

 

6. An Across-the-Board Mandate- this requires all persons with a particular license type 

(few or no exceptions) to complete a course, usually within a certain timeframe or by a 

specific date. For example, the newly-required Civilian Interaction Training Program 

course (not yet released) is required to complete by ALL peace officers by January 1, 2020. 

 

A course being mandated in any one of the above categories does not necessarily mean it is man-

dated in all. A good example here is the new De-escalation course. This course was required as a 

Basic Licensing Mandate, a Training Cycle Mandate, and as a Proficiency Certification Mandate 

(Intermediate and Advanced Peace Officer). It is not, however, mandated for Post Licensing, As-

signment, or Across the Board. The enacting legislation/statute must be examined closely to see 

exactly which mandate categories the course falls into and what license type the course applies 

to, before making the decision on whether the course is a mandate for each licensee.   

 

Further information on how these mandate categories apply to the new CIT course may be found 

in the March, 2018 issue of the Briefing. 

 

How Does the Reporting of Training really work for TCOLE Licensees? 
 

All Texas TCOLE licensees and their appointing agencies really need to understand how the pro-

cess of getting the required credit for courses works. After all, failing to understand could result 

in a licensee having their license suspended for not being credited for legislatively mandated 

training. So here are the basics that everyone should know: 

 

TCOLE has been tasked by the Legislature with providing basic licensing courses, legislatively 

mandated courses, and courses required for proficiency certificates. As TCOLE has never been an 

agency large enough to provide this service to all active licensees, the agency has chosen to con-

tract out that responsibility. Approximately 300 of the 2700 agencies across the State have a con-

tract with TCOLE, allowing them to instruct the above courses. TCOLE calls them Training Pro-

viders. Agencies without a contract are referred to as Non-Training Providers. Here’s the im-

portant part- what are the differences (and similarities) between a Training Provider and a Non-

Training Provider? (continued on next page) 
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Field Services Division, Continued 
 

 

 

Question Training Provider Non-Training Provider 

1. Can a Basic Licensing 
Course (academy) be reported? 

Yes, if they have an Academy 
Contract or prior approval from 
TCOLE. 

No 

2. Can a Legislatively Mandated 
course be reported? 

Yes No 

3. Can Certification courses be 
reported? 

Yes No 

4. Can courses not listed above 
be reported? 

Yes Yes 

5. How can you tell which cours-
es are reportable? 

Use the “Specific Courses” num-
ber list on the TCOLE website to 
determine what can be reported. 

Use the “General Courses” 
number list on the TCOLE web-
site to determine what can be 
reported. 

6. Can they report a legislatively 
mandated curriculum prior to its 
release by TCOLE? 

No No 

7. How long do they have to re-
port a course? 

By Rule, within 30 days of course 
completion. 

By Rule, within 30 days of 
course completion. 

8. Who can they report training 
for? 

Any person with a TCOLE PID 
number. 

Only persons appointed at that 
agency. 

9. Can they conduct/report dis-
tance education*? 

Yes, they may conduct it if they 
have a contract that specifically 
allows it. They may also report 
distance education conducted for 
them by another entity. 

No, they may not conduct dis-
tance education, but may report 
it if conducted for them by an-
other entity. 

10. Do they have to use TCOLE 
Certified Instructors? 

Generally, no. Very few courses 
require an Instructor Certification. 

Generally, no. Only a very few 
courses require an Instructor 
Certification. 

11. Are they required to use 
TCLEDDS to report? 

Yes No, they may use the Depart-
ment Reporting System (DRS), 
if they do not have TCLEDDS. 

12. What are the documentation 
requirements for reported train-
ing? 

The agency must abide by the 
requirements of 215.9(b)(3), 
which are extensive, unless they 
are reporting a course instructed 
by another entity, in which case 
they must abide by Rule 
218.1(b). 

The agency must abide by the 
requirements of Rule 218.1(b), 
which are much simpler. 
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Field Services Division, Continued 

The lesson to learn here, as an individual licensee and as an agency, is to question in advance any 

type of training which you wish to have submitted for TCOLE credit. If the course must be reported 

by a Training Provider, but is not being instructed by one, find out why. If the course is not taught 

by a Training Provider, determine if your agency is willing and able to report the training for you. 

And lastly, don’t even think about conducting any of the training restricted to a Training Provider, if 

you are not affiliated with a Provider and have received their advanced blessing to do your report-

ing. Doing so could result in a long line of angry cops/jailers/telecommunicators (and TCOLE) being 

on your case for having wasted their time. 
 

Lastly, we want to remind unappointed licensees that they may not report training directly to 

TCOLE. Any training they take should be taken at a Training Provider to ensure that it is properly 

reported to TCOLE. 
 

* Distance education: Study, at a distance, with an educational provider that conducts organized, 

formal learning opportunities for students. The instruction is offered wholly or primarily by distance 

study, through virtually any media. It may include the use of: videotapes, DVD, audio recordings, 

telephone and email communications, and Web-based delivery systems. 

 

Shane Norie, Sergeant Investigator, Enforcement Division 

Shane was raised in Sanger, Texas and is married to his wife of 15 years and 

they have one daughter. Shane has worked various positions in his 22 year law 

enforcement career including Criminal Investigations, Narcotics and Patrol. He 

finished his career with the Cooke County Sheriff’s Office as an Operations 

Lieutenant. Shane is also a graduate of the Bill Blackwood Law Enforcement 

Management Institute of Texas.  
 

Cailey Fritz, Customer Service Representative, Credentialing Division 

Cailey joined TCOLE in May. She recently married her best friend Ryan and 

they have a fur baby named Shiner who is their world! Cailey has a customer 

service background, but most recently came from Immanuel Lutheran Day 

School as a teacher, teaching little minds from infant to school age. She loves to 

travel and work on the ranch caring for their abundance of animals!  

New TCOLE Staff 
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Court Security Officer Course: Now Online Option 
 

Per the 85th Legislative session, a person who serves as a security officer for an appellate, district, 

statutory county, county, municipal, or justice court in the state of Texas is required to hold a court 

security certification before the first anniversary of the date the officer began providing security 

for the court. This mandated certification course designed by subject matter experts in conjunction 

with the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement (TCOLE) is titled “Court Security Officer Course” 

# 10999 and is required to be completed (by existing officers) by September 1, 2019. 

 

Due to the amount of officers needing this course and the September 1, 2019 deadline, this course 

has now been given the go-ahead to be presented in an online format. This new format option will 

allow for departments to assist their officers in completing their court security officer mandate in a 

timelier and more cost effective manner.  

 

The Court Security Officer Certification Course is a mandated course, so it can only be adapted in 

this online format by academies or contract training providers who possess their online addendums. 

If you are a provider in one of these categories you are now approved to conduct this training in the 

online format. If you are a security officer looking for course 10999 in the online format please re-

fer to the TCOLE website for possible sources in the provider contact information section http://

www.tcole.texas.gov/content/training-providers . 

Inside Story Headline 
Special Services Division 

http://www.tcole.texas.gov/content/training-providers
http://www.tcole.texas.gov/content/training-providers
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Legal Division 

 

 

Type of Action Number of Licenses 

Default Suspension Orders 15 

Default Revocation Orders 3 

Proposals for Decision 3 

Agreed Suspension Orders 3 

Statutory Revocations 3 

Statutory Suspensions 6 

Permanent Surrenders 19 

Term Surrenders 1 

Reprimands for Administrative Violations 375 

License Actions 
 

The following proceedings for revocation, suspension and other disciplinary actions took place at 

the June 2018 Commission Meeting. For a complete listing of these license actions, including names, 

departments, and case numbers, see the meeting agenda found on our website under  

Who We Are/The Commission/Meeting Minutes at www.tcole.texas.gov. 

 

 

Proposed Rule Amendments 
Rules proposed for amendment during the June 2018 Commission Meeting are currently open for 

public comment. For a summary of the rule changes, please see http://www.tcole.texas.gov/

commission-meeting-minutes. 

 

Please send your feedback and comments to: public_comment@tcole.texas.gov. 

 Proposed Amendment 1  

§211.1 Definitions (amend)  

Clarifies which chief administrators are required 

to attend chiefs training through LEMIT. 

 Proposed Amendment 2 

§218.3 Required Continuing Education for Licen-

sees (repeal)  

 Proposed Amendment 3 

§218.3 Required Continuing Education for Licen-

sees (new)  

Consolidates all legislatively required continuing 

education requirements into one rule. 

 Proposed Amendment 4 

§223.17 Reinstatement of a license (amend)  

Mirrors the reactivation process. 

http://www.tcole.texas.gov/commission-meeting-minutes
http://www.tcole.texas.gov
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Government Relations Division 
 

 
Peace Officer Crash Reports (CR-3) 
By Lacey Cox, Texas Department of Transportation 

 

Senate Bill 312 (85th Legislature), has mandated that all Peace Officer Crash Reports (CR-3) are to 

be submitted electronically by 09/01/2019. Texas Transportation Code §550.62(b) was amended 

to read as follows: “(b) The report required by Subsection (a) must be filed electronically with the 

department not later than the 10th day after the date of the accident.” TxDOT currently offers two 

approved electronic formats for submitting crash data that validate the crash, when submitted: 
 

Crash Reporting and Analysis for Safer Highways (CRASH): The CRASH application was created 

to allow Law Enforcement Officers to submit the Texas Peace Officer’s Crash Report (form 

CR-3) electronically to the State of Texas. Please visit our website for more details, 

https://www.txdotcrash.com.   

Submission Services: Developed for agencies with an existing application and requires a web 

services client and adherence to the 800+ business rules and edits. Please contact esub-

mission@txdot.gov for more information.    
 

Senate Bill 312 has also mandated that all Driver’s Crash Reports (Form CR-2) are no longer re-

tained by the Texas Department of Transportation, Effective Sept. 1, 2017. The drivers involved 

in a crash not investigated by a police officer should retain this form for their records. 

Issues in Law Enforcement 

Rulemaking Process 
 

From time to time, the Commission gets questions on the process to propose and implement new or 

amended administrative rules. Below is a summary of the steps in this process: 

1. TCOLE staff and, as applicable, outside subject matter experts, draft rules for review by the 

TCOLE Commissioners; 

2. Commissioners vote to publish the proposed rule changes in the Texas Register at a regular 

quarterly meeting; 

3. A public comment period of a minimum of 30 days must be made available; the Commission ac-

cepts public comment for the approximately 90 days between quarterly meetings; and 

4. Commissioners vote again to approve the rules for final adoption and implementation. 

5. If substantive changes are made, the rules must begin again at step 2. 



13  

 

 

Inside Story Headline 
2018 State of Texas Law Enforcement Achievement Awards 
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2018 State of Texas Law Enforcement Achievement Awards, cont’d 
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